With tighter controls and rules on the issuance of drivers licenses in the state of Oklahoma, it can often be difficult to know what exactly you need. Here's a quick guide on obtaining or renewing your license with some important tips to remember.
Time Required: Varies
- Initial License: Those wanting an initial Oklahoma driver's license must pass a written test as well as a driving test administered by an examiner from the Department of Public Safety. Manuals are available at most Oklahoma Tag Agencies or online in Adobe PDF format.
- If applying for an initial license, you will need both a primary and secondary proof of identification (certified copy or original). Primary can be any of the following:
- Certified birth certificate
- Military ID
- Indian Affairs ID
- OK State ID
- Citizen naturalization documents
- Out of state drivers license
- A secondary proof of identification (certified copy or original) would include things such as:
- Any primary proof not used as the primary identification
- For those under 18, an affidavit signed by parent or legal guardian
- Photo ID from college, public school, technical school or employer
- OK gun permit, fishing license, pilot license or voter ID
- Social Security card
- Marriage certificate
- Diploma, degree, professional certificate or license
- Health insurance card or insurance policy
- Deed to property
- Renewal License: Those simply wanting to renew their not-yet-expired Oklahoma driver's license can do so at any Oklahoma Tag Agency. You must bring a primary and secondary form of identification (see lists above), and your expiring license functions as a primary. Renewals currently cost around $20.
- Replacement License: Getting a replacement license for one that was lost or stolen is the same as renewal. However, restrictions are more stringent for those 21-26 years of age due to the frequency of attempts to break underage drinking laws. Drivers within that age group must have a certified birth certificate and a notarized affidavit (available at the Department of Public Safety) completed by another licensed driver of at least 21 years of age.
- Transfer Valid License From Another State: Those moving to Oklahoma that possess a valid drivers license from another state need to make sure vehicles are registered in Oklahoma. After that, you can go to any Drivers License Exam Station. Often, written and driving tests are waived. However, you will likely still need to take a vision test.
- Expired Licenses: If you've allowed your Oklahoma Drivers License to expired (more than 30 days), new immigration laws enacted in November of 2007 make things a bit more difficult than simple renewal. You must appear before an examiner and establish "legal presence in the U.S." A list of Exam Stations is available online, and both a primary and secondary proof of identity must be provided.
*Beginning February 11, 2008, though, you will be able to do this at a Tag Agency rather than having to go to an Exam Station.
- Males 18-25, when attempting to obtain an initial or renewal license, must verify they have registered with the Selective Service System.
- A class "D" driver's license (typical car licenses) can be renewed by mail as long as it has not yet expired. Call (405) 425-2424 for more information.
- Any form of identification that has been or appears to have been duplicated, traced over, mutilated, defaced, tampered with, or altered in any way will likely not be accepted.
- Military personnel and their spouse living outside the US automatically have an additional 60 day extension from whatever time they re-enter the US after service for any driver's license renewal.
- Driver's under the age of 18 need to be aware of new restrictions on their driving under the Graduated Driver License legislation. Details can be found in the Oklahoma Driver's Manual (see Step 1 for where to obtain one).