Whenever you go fishing in the state of Oklahoma you are required to have a license. Fishing without a license is monitored at OKC lakes and elsewhere across the state by park rangers. Here is a step by step on how to get a fishing license in the state of Oklahoma, with details on costs, purchase locations and the new online buying option.
Time Required: Minutes
Determine Your Oklahoma Fishing License Needs - If you plan to live in Oklahoma for a long time and are a frequent fisherman, a lifetime fishing license is probably the choice for you. But if you rarely go fishing, you may opt for a 2-day license. Or perhaps you're only in the state for a limited time. The first step is determining what license is right for you. Here are your Oklahoma fishing license options:
- Combination Fishing/Hunting (Available in Lifetime, 5-Year and Annual)
- Non-Resident Annual
- Non-Resident 6-Day
- Non-Resident 1-Day
Check Oklahoma Fishing License Costs - Here are current Oklahoma fishing license costs as of 2014. You should verify costs by calling (405) 521-3852 or checking online.
- Lifetime Fishing: $225
- Lifetime Fishing/Hunting Combination: $775
- 5-Year Fishing: $88
- 5-Year Fishing/Hunting: $148
- Annual Fishing: $25 (Youth, 16-17: $5)
- Annual Fishing/Hunting Combination: $42 (Youth, 16-17: $9)
- 2-Day Fishing: $15
- Non-Resident Annual: $55
- Non-Resident 6-Day: $35
- Non-Resident 1-Day $15
- Gather Necessary Information - In order to purchase a fishing license in the state of Oklahoma, you will need to provide name, address, email (if purchasing online) and valid identification, so make sure you have everything prepared before buying. Here are valid forms of identification:
Purchase Your Oklahoma Fishing License - Now that you know exactly what you want and you have your necessary information, you can purchase an Oklahoma fishing license. Licenses are available at over 700 locations across the state, and chances are good that sporting goods stores, bait shops or even many convenience stores can sell a license. Non-residents can also order over the phone by calling (405) 521-3852.
Now, you can even purchase a license online. There is a $3 convenience fee to purchase online, and you'll need Visa or Mastercard.
Lifetime licenses must be purchased by filing a form. Get details online.
- Enjoy! - Now that you have your Oklahoma fishing license, get out there and enjoy the many fantastic lakes and fishing areas across the state. If you're in the metro, check out the detailed profiles on OKC Lakes as well as the "Close to Home" Fishing Areas.
- Fines for fishing in the state of Oklahoma can be as high as $500 and can even include jail time, so there is absolutely no reason not to pay the small license fee.
- License fees go to support the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation, an entity that receives no other state tax funding.
- Residents under 16 and non-residents under 14 are exempt from needing an Oklahoma fishing license.
- Special licenses are required for Blue River Public Fishing & Hunting Area, Honobia Creek Wildlife Management Area, the Three Rivers Wildlife Management Area and Lake Texoma. In addition, there are separate licenses for trout and paddlefish.
- For questions or more information, contact the state's Department of Wildlife Conservation License Section at (405) 521-3852.
Free Fishing Days:
The state of Oklahoma waives its fishing license fees during the annual "Free Fishing Days." In 2014, the days are June 7-8. In addition, Oklahoma City also waives fishing fees that weekend at area city lakes such as Hefner, Overholser, Draper and the smaller "Close to Home" fishing areas. Be aware that fees may apply at other lakes, though. For example, there is a daily vehicle entry for fishing at Arcadia Lake near Edmond.