Those planning to have a garage sale in Oklahoma City should know that the metro has very specific rules and regulations governing garage or yard sales within the city limits. So before having a garage sale in Oklahoma City, begin with the understanding that anyone wishing to have a garage sale must have a permit to do so. Once you have one, though, your sale will be placed on the city's garage sale listings at no charge.
PermitsGarage sale permits are $7 (check or money order) and can be obtained by filing online, by calling (405) 297-2606 or with the License Division at 420 West Main Street from 8am-5pm, Monday through Friday.
Permit applications are available in Adobe PDF format online through the city's website.
You can also receive your permit by mail if you request an application at least two weeks before your sale.
A permit is good for 3 consecutive days but must be used only for the address listed, between the hours of 8am and 6pm.
- Each household is limited to only 2 garage sales per year.
- Garage sales no longer need to be spaced out. You can have two on consecutive weekends if desired.
- Garage sale signs are not allowed on utility poles, traffic sign poles, medians or any public right-of-way.
- Only one sign can be placed in front of your house and cannot be larger than 12 square feet.
- Any personal property can be sold except motor vehicles, new merchandise, consignment items or resale items.
FinesFailure to comply with the Oklahoma City regulations governing garage sales is punishable by a maximum fine of $200 plus costs.
ContactsFor further information regarding holding a garage sale in Oklahoma City and the permit applications, contact:
Oklahoma City License Division
420 W Main St., Suite 130
Oklahoma City, OK. 73102