1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Oklahoma Film Critics Circle


In Short:

A professional association of print, broadcast and online movie reviewers, the Oklahoma Film Critics Circle (OFCC) was founded in 2006 by Kathryn Jenson White, a writer who has reviewed for The Oklahoman and The Oklahoma Gazette. According to the organization's mission, it "promotes film in Oklahoma and strives to increase the visibility of the state's film-viewing and filmmaking communities." The OFCC is comprised of critics from across the state, and each year they get together to nominate and vote upon the year's movies. The annual movie awards list includes a top 10 list of films; honors for directing, writing and acting; and even selections of the year's worst movies.


As of 2013, the Oklahoma Film Critics Circle membership includes around 25 reviewers, representatives from a number of state media outlets.

Print: The Oklahoman, Oklahoma Gazette, Tulsa World, Edmond Life & Leisure, This Land Press and Urban Tulsa
Television: KOKH FOX 25
Radio: KJYO/Clear Channel
Web: 411mania.com, ionOKmag.com, crosswalk.com, u-out.net and shadowcabaret.com

Oklahoma Film Critics Circle Awards - 2013:

The OFCC announced its 8th annual awards list in early January of 2014.

  • Best Film: "Her"
  • Top 10 Films:
    “American Hustle”
    “12 Years a Slave
    “Inside Llewyn Davis”
    “Captain Philips”
    “The Wolf of Wall Street”
    “All Is Lost”
    “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Best Director: Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity”
  • Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”
  • Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”
  • Best Animated Film: “Frozen”
  • Best Body of Work: Matthew McConaughey (“Dallas Buyers Club,” “Mud,” “The Wolf of Wall Street”)
  • Best Documentary: “The Act of Killing”
  • Best First Feature: “Fruitvale Station," Ryan Coogler
  • Best Foreign Language Film: “The Hunt”
  • Best Guilty Pleasure: “Iron Man 3”
  • Not-So-Obviously Worst Movie: “August: Osage County”
  • Obviously Worst Movie: “Grown Ups 2”
  • Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze, "Her"
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: John Ridley, "12 Years a Slave”
  • Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”

Previous Year's Awards

The Oklahoma Film Critics Circle Awards began in 2006. The Best Film for each year is noted below. Follow the link for that year's complete list of awards.

More Information

In addition to announcing the annual movie awards, Oklahoma Film Critics Circle members post film-related news and links on the organization's website ofccircle.org and its Facebook page.


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.