1. Travel
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Carrie Underwood CD - "Some Hearts"

About.com Rating 4.5 Star Rating


Carrie Underwood CD -
© Arista Records

The Bottom Line

First, brutal honesty. I live here and don't like country music. I know, I know. Nonetheless, I was rooting for Carrie Underwood on American Idol. She's sweet, pretty and an Oklahoma native. What else could you want?

Her debut is good, and I highly recommend it. If you don't like country, you'll still enjoy this. But there's no doubt she is a country singer, and she doesn't go much beyond her Idol image. That won her the crown, though, so it's probably a wise move for the first album.

<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->


  • Some Song Variety - Country with some pop mixed in
  • Underwood's Vocal Range - Can hit the high notes with the best of them
  • Depth of Instrumental - Piano, guitars, strings... It has it all


  • It is a Country Album - This is only a con if you're looking for a LOT of variety.
  • Less than Incredible Tracks - Like all CDs, this one has a couple songs that won't wow you.
  • Substance - Some would say she doesn't move much beyond her AI image her. But is that bad?


  • 14 tracks including "Inside Your Heaven," "Wasted," "Jesus, Take the Wheel" and "Some Hearts."
  • Arista Record release through 19 Recordings.
  • "Inside Your Heaven" debuted as best selling song in nation.
  • Underwood makes history as first country music artist ever to debut at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Guide Review - Carrie Underwood CD - "Some Hearts"

As I said above, I'm not a country music fan. But that didn't keep me from enjoying "Some Hearts," Carrie Underwood's debut album. Any review has to begin with Underwood's vocals. She has a very good voice that is soothing and precise in pitch. Her range is well-displayed in her debut as she hits the high notes with the best of them.

Tracks like "Jesus, Take the Wheel" and "We're Young and Beautiful" are classic country while Underwood finds some pop tempos and tones in songs such as "That's Where It Is" and the title track. There's even a bit of a blues sound to "Before He Cheats." Her single "Inside Your Heaven" is included, although many find it less than fantastic. I'll admit it grew on me while hearing it on the radio, but I found myself more interested in the other songs.

The one knock on Underwood from her American Idol days was her lack of stage presence. Obviously there's no stage presence on a CD, but successful songs need more than just melody. They need sincerity. And that's where the greatest surprise came for me. Underwood brings a "stage presence" to this music, infusing it with tenderness and heart.

Overall, though, don't go looking for a lot more than you saw on American Idol. The recipe here is to show off her fantastic voice in some well-written country and semi-pop tunes. And the recipe is a success. Although I don't see myself every converting to a country music fan, I'll definitely check out the next album by Carrie Underwood.
<!--#echo encoding="none" var="lcp" -->

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.