It was really just a matter of time. With the extreme heat and dry conditions all around the state, counties have begun instituting burn bans, and the total now sits at 31 of Oklahoma's 77 counties. Oklahoma County joined the list last week when the board of county commissioners unanimously approved a 30-day ban, which can be extended or lifted early if needed.
Here are the particulars of the current burn ban:
- Outdoor burning is prohibited. This includes campfires, bonfires and burning of trash.
- There is an exception in the ban for charcoal and gas grilling on approved appliances.
- Violators could face a fine of as much as $500, a sentence of as much as one year in prison, or both.
Follow me on Twitter