1. Local
Adam Knapp

2012 Oklahoma Book Award Winners

By April 24, 2012

Follow me on:

Undoubtedly a worthy set of additions to your reading list, the 2012 Oklahoma Book Award winners were announced as part of a ceremony held last week at the Jim Thorpe Museum in Oklahoma City. Sponsored by the Oklahoma Center for the Book, part of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries, the awards were established in 1990 to honor Oklahoma authors and the literary heritage of the state.

Named the top fiction book was "Along the Watchtower," the debut novel from Edmond author Constance Squires that tells the story of a teenage girl using rock music to cope with her military-family life of constant relocation. The prize for non-fiction went to "An American Betrayal: Cherokee Patriots and the Trail of Tears" by Daniel Blake Smith. And elsewhere on the list, there are standout children's books such as Glenda Galvan's "Chikasha Stories, Volume One: Shared Spirit" and poetry from Norman's Joe Dale Tate Nevaquaya in "Leaving Holes and Selected New Writings."

See a full list of the 2012 Oklahoma Book Award Winners.

Follow me on Twitter


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.